The date was 12 July 1998, the day of the final of the FIFA World Cup at the Stade de France, the last time I remember such a frenzy surrounding a player’s availability for a match.


With 10 rounds of matches and more played in the Absa Premiership and the top leagues in Europe, the log standings are starting to take shape with top teams collecting points and others already struggling at the wrong end.

Coaches have already been fired for poor results, therefore the notion that it’s still too early is already out of the window.


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed the nominees for the 2017 African Player of the Year and African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) awards.


The new president of Netball South Africa (NSA), Cecilia Molokwane, is to meet the other members of the new national executive in Pretoria on Thursday to map out plans for netball in the next four years.